Bedding & Bath

Best Organic Cotton Towels: Five Compared on GOTS Records, Weight and What the Labels Cover

For shoppers choosing organic cotton towels: five brand-sold sets compared on GOTS records we checked, towel weight in GSM, size and claims that go further than the certificate.

Research-based comparisonUpdated 9 min read5 products compared
Best Organic Cotton Towels: Five Compared on GOTS Records, Weight and What the Labels Cover
On this page 7 sections
  1. What GOTS on a towel listing tells you
  2. Listings we would be careful with
  3. Our picks
  4. How to choose organic cotton towels
  5. How this guide was researched
  6. Common questions
  7. Sources and related reading

Natural Picks is reader-supported: when you buy through our Amazon links we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays to be featured or ranked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money.

The short version

Coyuchi is the best documented pick: the company has a GOTS certificate valid to May 2027 that lists towels. Bioweaves and Delara also have GOTS records with towels in scope. The other two claim GOTS but we could not find them in the database under their brand names.

GOTS covers the organic cotton and how the towel is made; it says nothing about how soft or absorbent a towel is, and it does not make “chemical free” true. General information, not medical advice.

Jump to picks · Compare · How we chose

On Oct 19, 2026 we searched Amazon.com for organic cotton bath towels GOTS, kept one product per brand, and read each full listing.

3 of 5

towel listings that claim GOTS have a company record in the GOTS database that includes towels. The other two could not be found under their brand names.

CoyuchiBioweavesDelaraCalifornia Design DenSpringtree Home
Editorial score81/1004.176/1003.873/1003.756/1002.850/1002.5
Best forMost documentedHeavy, plush towelsSold by AmazonLighter, quick-dryingLarger set, lower weight claim
Set / form4-piece set: 2 bath, 2 handPack of 2 bath towelsPack of 4 bath towels6-piece set6-piece set
Weight statedNot stated (“lightweight”)700 GSM650 GSM550 GSM650 GSM
Bath towel size27 x 54 in (listing dimensions)30 x 58 in30 x 58 in27 x 54 in30 x 52 in
GOTS record we foundYes: GOTS-27150, towels in scope, valid to 2027-05-02Yes: GOTS-32966, towels in scope, valid to 2027-08-08Yes: GOTS-23595, towels in scope, valid to 2027-06-18Not found under the brand nameNot found under the brand name
Other certification claimsNoneNoneOEKO-TEX claimed (no number)NoneNone
Seller on buy boxCoyuchi, Inc.Bioweaves StoreAmazon.comCalifornia Design DenSpringtree Home
LimitationWeight not statedMarketing claims go beyond GOTSMaterial field says only “Cotton”GOTS record not foundGOTS record not found; wording overstates GOTS
Per unitPer-unit price shown when Amazon price data is availablePer-unit price shown when Amazon price data is availablePer-unit price shown when Amazon price data is availablePer-unit price shown when Amazon price data is availablePer-unit price shown when Amazon price data is available
ShopView on AmazonView on AmazonView on AmazonView on AmazonView on Amazon
Research completed Oct 19, 2026. Prices come from Amazon with the time shown and can change. We did not use or test these products.

What GOTS on a towel listing tells you

GOTS, the Global Organic Textile Standard, requires organic fibers and sets limits on the dyes and chemicals used to make the product. A listing can claim it in two ways: the company holds a certificate, or the specific towels were certified. We checked the first: whether the brand appears in the certified suppliers database and whether towels are in its scope.

A record is not a label on the towel. Look for the GOTS logo with a license number on the product itself, and for the certificate holder’s name, which can be a manufacturer rather than the brand. A brand missing from the database may still be certified through the factory.

  • Search the GOTS database for the brand and the factory name; check that towels are in scope and the certificate has not expired.
  • Compare GSM across sets: higher is thicker and slower to dry; the lighter sets here say they dry faster.
  • Check the bath towel size: sizes in this guide range from 27 x 54 in to 30 x 58 in.
  • Treat “non-toxic”, “chemical free” and “hypoallergenic” as marketing, not GOTS terms.

Claims, translated

ClaimWhat it coversKey exclusion
“GOTS certified”Organic fibers and a restricted-substances process under the Global Organic Textile StandardCertifies the company or product, not softness or absorbency; verify the record
“100% organic cotton”All cotton fiber is organic, per the listingAsk which certificate backs it; GOTS requires a license
“Non-toxic & chemical free”A seller’s phraseNot a GOTS term; every textile uses some process chemicals within limits
“Feather Touch / Quick dry technology”Brand names for a finish or constructionNo definition or test on the listing
“GOTS covers growing, dyeing and finishing”A statement about the scope of the certificateGOTS covers processing of organic fiber; farming is covered by the organic fiber standard it requires
“GSM” (grams per square meter)Fabric weightHigher is heavier and slower to dry; not a quality score
Claims found in the listings reviewed for this guide.

Listings we would be careful with

ListingWhat we foundOur check
Boll & Branch organic setsBoll & Branch LLC has a GOTS record, but the towel listing read here says “organic cotton” and does not name GOTSNot scored: no certification claim on the listing to check
Unbranded “Turkish” or “hotel” organic towel sets with many near-identical listingsMany state GOTS without a license number or brand we could match to a recordNot scored
Bamboo-rayon and “Egyptian cotton” towel sets that appear in the same searchDifferent fiber; no organic claimNot scored
Star ratings and “bought in past month” badgesShown for every productNot evidence of materials or certification; not used in scores
Read the seller name, the exact product name and the materials list before buying.

Our picks

Best documented

1. Coyuchi Classic Organic Cotton Terry Towels

81/100

Editorial score4.1

GOTS record verified

4-piece set

Sold by the brand

Fiber100% organic cotton terry.
GOTSVerified. Coyuchi Inc. appears in the GOTS database, certificate GOTS-27150, valid to May 2, 2027, and towels are in its scope.
Set2 bath towels and 2 hand towels; bath towel dimensions listed as 54 x 27 in.
WeightNot stated; the listing calls the terry “lightweight”.
CareMachine wash cold, tumble dry low, no bleach; the listing suggests wool dryer balls instead of softener.
RecallsNo Coyuchi record in a CPSC title search on Oct 19, 2026.
SellerSold by Coyuchi, Inc., the brand.
PriceSee current price on Amazon

Coyuchi is the only brand here that is both verified in the database and specific about care, and it sells the set itself.

It does not state a GSM, so you cannot compare its weight with the others on the listing alone; “non-toxic” is a marketing word, not a GOTS term.

Why it scored well

  • GOTS record found with towels in scope
  • Care instructions stated
  • Sold by the brand

Watch-outs

  • Towel weight (GSM) not stated
  • “Non-toxic” is not a GOTS term
  • Bath towels are on the smaller side (27 x 54 in)

Heaviest weight

2. BIOWEAVES 100% Organic Cotton Plush Bath Towels, 700 GSM

76/100

Editorial score3.8

GOTS record verified

700 GSM

Made in India

Fiber100% organic cotton, 2-ply low-twist yarn.
GOTSVerified. Bioweaves Retail LLP is in the GOTS database, certificate GOTS-32966, valid to Aug 8, 2027, towels in scope (as a trader, not a mill).
Weight and size700 GSM; bath towel 30 x 58 in; pack of 2.
Claims“Non-toxic & chemical free” and “shield your body from allergies” go beyond what GOTS covers.
OriginMade in India, per the listing.
RecallsNo Bioweaves record in a CPSC title search on Oct 19, 2026.
SellerSold by the Bioweaves Store, the brand.
PriceSee current price on Amazon

Bioweaves states the weight, size, yarn and origin, and its GOTS certificate is in the database with towels in scope.

The heavy 700 GSM towels are thick and slower to dry, and the allergy and chemical-free claims are not backed by the certificate.

Why it scored well

  • GOTS record found with towels in scope
  • Weight, size and yarn stated
  • Made in India per the listing

Watch-outs

  • “Chemical free” and allergy claims overstate GOTS
  • 700 GSM towels dry slowly
  • The certificate holder is a trader, not the mill

Sold by Amazon

3. Delara Organic Cotton Plush Bath Towels, Pack of 4

73/100

Editorial score3.7

GOTS record verified

650 GSM

Sold by Amazon

Fiber100% two-ply long-staple organic cotton terry per the bullets; the Material field says only “Cotton”.
GOTSVerified. A1 Home Collections LLC (dba Delara) is in the GOTS database, certificate GOTS-23595, valid to Jun 18, 2027, organic cotton towels in scope.
OEKO-TEXClaimed in the title without a label number; not checked.
Weight and size650 GSM; bath towels 30 x 58 in; pack of 4.
Claims“Feather Touch” and “Quick dry” technology and “non-toxic & chemical free” have no definition or test on the listing.
RecallsNo Delara record in a CPSC title search on Oct 19, 2026.
SellerShipper and seller Amazon.com.
PriceSee current price on Amazon

Delara has a GOTS record with towels in scope and the listing is sold directly by Amazon, which removes seller risk.

The Material field and the bullets do not match on organic, and the marketing technology names are not defined.

Why it scored well

  • GOTS record found with towels in scope
  • Weight and size stated
  • Sold by Amazon

Watch-outs

  • Material field says “Cotton”, not organic
  • OEKO-TEX claim has no number
  • Technology names are undefined

Lighter, quick-drying

4. California Design Den 100% Organic Cotton 6-Piece Set

56/100

Editorial score2.8

550 GSM

Made in Turkey

GOTS not found

Fiber100% organic cotton, per the listing.
GOTSClaimed (“GOTS certified product”). A search for the brand returned no record in the GOTS database, and no certificate number is on the listing; the towels may be certified under the factory’s name.
Set and size2 bath towels (27 x 54 in), 2 hand towels (16 x 30 in), 2 washcloths (12 x 12 in).
Weight550 GSM; the listing says “not thick” and dries between uses.
OriginMade in Turkey, per the listing.
RecallsNo record found in a CPSC title search on Oct 19, 2026.
SellerSold by California Design Den, the brand.
PriceSee current price on Amazon

This is the clearest listing on size, weight and care, and the lighter weight is a real trade-off it explains.

The GOTS claim is the one thing we could not confirm, since the brand is not in the database and no number is given.

Why it scored well

  • Set contents, sizes and GSM clearly stated
  • Care instructions simple
  • Sold by the brand

Watch-outs

  • GOTS record not found under the brand name
  • Bath towels are smaller (27 x 54 in)
  • “Dries between showers” has no test

Larger set

5. Springtree Home GOTS Organic Cotton 6-Piece Towel Set

50/100

Editorial score2.5

650 GSM

6-piece set

GOTS not found

Fiber100% organic cotton, per the listing.
GOTSClaimed, with the wording “covering the growing, dyeing and finishing”. No record under the brand name in the GOTS database and no certificate number on the listing.
Set and size2 bath towels (30 x 52 in), 2 hand towels (16 x 28 in), 2 washcloths (12 x 12 in).
Weight650 GSM, described as heavyweight.
CareMachine wash warm, tumble dry low.
RecallsNo Springtree record in a CPSC title search on Oct 19, 2026.
SellerSold by Springtree Home, the brand.
PriceSee current price on Amazon

Springtree gives set contents, GSM and care, and claims GOTS for the whole process.

We could not find the brand or a certificate number, and the wording about growing overstates what a GOTS processing certificate covers.

Why it scored well

  • Set contents and GSM stated
  • Care instructions stated
  • Sold by the brand

Watch-outs

  • GOTS record not found under the brand name
  • Wording on what GOTS covers is overstated
  • Bath towel is shorter (30 x 52 in)

How to choose organic cotton towels

  • Search the GOTS database for the brand and confirm towels are in the product scope.
  • Pick a weight for how you use them: heavier is plusher; lighter dries faster.
  • Check the size: bath towels range from 27 to 30 inches wide in this guide.
  • Wash before use and avoid fabric softener, which coats the loops and reduces absorbency.

How this guide was researched

We searched Amazon.com for organic cotton bath towels GOTS on Oct 19, 2026, kept one product per brand, and read each full listing: title, bullet points, product details and the buy box. We searched the GOTS certified suppliers database for each brand, opened the three records we found to confirm that towels are in scope and the certificate dates, opened the seller line on each buy box and searched the CPSC recall database for each brand. We scored products with our published method: certification (25), disclosure (20), claims (20), consistency (10) and seller (15); the value part was left out (we show no Amazon prices yet), and scores are rescaled to 100. We did not use or test any product.

We could not use the Amazon product API, so every fact comes from listings and records read by hand on the date shown, and can change. A missing GOTS record under a brand name does not prove the towels are uncertified: the towels may be certified under the manufacturer’s name. Towel weight (GSM) and sizes come from the listings and we did not measure them. General information, not medical advice.

Common questions

Does GOTS mean the towels are soft?

No. GOTS is about the fiber and the process, not the feel. Weight and weave decide how a towel feels.

What if I cannot find a brand in the GOTS database?

It may be certified under its manufacturer's name. Ask the seller for the certificate number and license.

Is a higher GSM towel better?

Not always. Heavier towels are thicker and absorbent but dry slower; the lighter sets here say they dry faster.

More buying guides

See all

Every Amazon product buyers guide in one place.