Natural Picks is reader-supported: when you buy through our Amazon links we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays to be featured or ranked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money.
The short version
The Calphalon olive wood spoon is the best-documented pick: it names the wood, the origin and the care, and makes no certification claim we would have to verify. The OXO and Le Creuset beech sets claim FSC-certified wood, but we could not find either brand in the FSC database.
Bamboo is not wood, and one set sold as a “maple wood” tool set has bamboo handles. General information, not medical advice.
Jump to picks · Compare · How we chose
On Oct 19, 2026 we searched Amazon.com for wooden spoons set cooking utensils beech, kept one product per brand, and read each full listing.
0 of 2
FSC-certified wood claims we searched for were found in the FSC database under the brand name. The wood may be certified through a supplier, which the listings do not name.
| Calphalon | ECOSALL | OXO | Le Creuset | KitchenAid | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Editorial score | 83/1004.2 | 68/1003.4 | 64/1003.2 | 60/1003.0 | 58/1002.9 |
| Best for | Single serving spoon | Natural-material set | Everyday set | Premium set | Mixed-material set |
| Wood | Italian olive wood | Beech wood (Ukraine, per listing) | Beech wood | Beech wood | “Maple wood” title; bamboo handles |
| Pieces | 1 spoon, 13 in | 6 spoons, 12 in | 3 spoons (small, medium, large) | 3 tools | 3 tools (2 turners, 1 basting spoon) |
| FSC claim | None | None | “FSC-certified beechwood” (not found) | “FSC-certified beech wood” (not found) | None |
| Finish | Care with food-grade oil | Not coated, varnished or glued (seller) | Natural oil finish | Not stated | Not stated |
| Care | Hand wash only | Not stated in bullets read | Not stated in bullets read | Not stated in bullets read | Not stated |
| Seller on buy box | Amazon.com | Ecosall | Amazon.com | Amazon.com | Amazon.com |
| Limitation | Single piece; olive wood is dense | Disparaging claims about bamboo and silicone | FSC claim unverified | FSC claim unverified | Title and bullets disagree on material |
| Per unit | Per-unit price shown when Amazon price data is available | Per-unit price shown when Amazon price data is available | Per-unit price shown when Amazon price data is available | Per-unit price shown when Amazon price data is available | Per-unit price shown when Amazon price data is available |
| Shop | View on Amazon | View on Amazon | View on Amazon | View on Amazon | View on Amazon |
Wood type, FSC and what “safe for nonstick” means
The wood species matters more than the label: beech is a common, even-grained hardwood used for utensils, olive wood is dense and oily, and bamboo is a grass, not a wood. A listing that says “maple” and “bamboo” in different places has told you the material is unclear.
FSC certification, when a brand claims it, is something you can look up in the FSC database by company or certificate code. If the brand itself is not in the database the claim may still be true through a supplier, but the listing should say so with a certificate number.
- Read the Material field and the bullets: do they name the same wood?
- If FSC is claimed, look for a certificate code and search it at search.fsc.org.
- Check the finish: oiled, unfinished, varnished or coated.
- Wooden spoons need hand washing; dishwasher heat cracks and dries the wood.
Claims, translated
| Claim | What it covers | Key exclusion |
|---|---|---|
| “FSC-certified beech wood” | The wood comes from a forest or supply chain certified by the Forest Stewardship Council, per the seller | No certificate code on the listing; we found neither OXO nor Le Creuset in the FSC database under those names |
| “Safe for nonstick cookware” | Wood is softer than metal and will not scratch a nonstick surface | A general property of wood; not a test of any particular spoon |
| “Made in Ukraine” / “Italian olive wood” | Origin claims by the seller | No certificate or maker named; seller statement |
| “Organic, non-toxic wood” | A seller’s description | “Organic” has no meaning for wood without a certificate; not verified |
| “Not varnished, coated or glued” | The spoon is a single piece of wood with no finish | Seller statement; we did not inspect the product |
| “Eco-friendly, sustainable bamboo handles” | The handles are made of bamboo | Bamboo is not the wood the title implies; no certificate |
Listings we would be careful with
| Listing | What we found | Our check |
|---|---|---|
| Chef Craft Select Beechwood Spoon Set | The buy box named Handy Housewares as the seller, not the brand, and the listing gives no origin or finish | Not scored: seller is not the brand or Amazon |
| Bamboo spoon sets (Riveira, Prime Bamboo and others) | Bamboo is a grass, not a wood; the sets may use glued or laminated bamboo | Not scored: a different material |
| Unbranded 8-, 11- and 4-piece “beech wood” sets (for example HOWHONG, WOSPONFAN) | Many near-identical listings with no origin, finish or certification detail | Not scored |
| Star ratings and “bought in past month” badges | Shown for every product | Not evidence of materials or certification; not used in scores |
Our picks
Best documented
1. Calphalon Prime 13-Inch Italian Olive Wood Spoon
83/100
Editorial score4.2Italian olive wood
Hand wash only
Sold by Amazon
| Wood | Italian olive wood, a solid single piece, 13 inches. |
| Care | Hand wash only; the listing says to care for it with food-grade oil. |
| Claims | “Naturally resistant to staining and odor absorption” and “safe for nonstick” are seller statements. |
| Certification | None claimed; no registry applies. |
| Recalls | Calphalon recalls in the CPSC database cover blenders, knife sets and kettles; none names wooden utensils. |
| Seller | Shipper and seller Amazon.com. |
| Price | See current price on Amazon |
Calphalon names the wood, the origin and the care in plain terms and makes no certification claim that we would have to chase, so there is little to contradict.
It is one spoon, not a set, and olive wood is a dense wood that needs oiling.
Why it scored well
- Wood and origin named
- Care instructions clear
- Sold by Amazon
Watch-outs
- A single spoon, not a set
- Origin is a seller statement
- Needs hand washing and oiling
Natural-material set
2. ECOSALL 6 Wooden Spoons, Beech
68/100
Editorial score3.4Beech wood
Made in Ukraine
6 spoons
| Wood | “Real beech wood” in the Material field; the bullets say solid European beechwood. |
| Origin | “Made in Ukraine”, per the listing. |
| Finish | “Non coated, not varnished and not glued” (seller statement). |
| Contents | 6 spoons in different shapes, about 12 in long. |
| Claims | “Organic, non-toxic and healthy” and claims that bamboo contains “toxic glue and melamine” have no source. |
| Recalls | No ECOSALL record in a CPSC title search on Oct 19, 2026. |
| Seller | Sold by Ecosall, the brand’s store. |
| Price | See current price on Amazon |
ECOSALL names the wood, the origin and the finish (none), which is more than most sets do.
It also makes claims about its competitors and uses “organic” for wood without a certificate, so we scored its claims low.
Why it scored well
- Wood, origin and finish stated
- Six shapes in one set
- Sold by the brand
Watch-outs
- “Organic” wood claim has no certificate
- Disparages bamboo and silicone without a source
- Care instructions are not in the bullets read
Everyday set
3. OXO Good Grips 3-Piece Wooden Spoon Set
64/100
Editorial score3.2Beech wood
FSC claimed
Natural oil finish
| Wood | Solid one-piece beechwood. |
| FSC | The listing says the product is made from FSC-certified beechwood, with no certificate code. We could not find OXO or its parent company in the FSC database; a supplier may hold the certificate. |
| Finish | Natural oil finish. |
| Contents | Small, medium and large spoons. |
| Care | Not stated in the bullets we read. |
| Recalls | A 2015 recall of OXO booster seats is a different product; none names wooden utensils. |
| Seller | Shipper and seller Amazon.com. |
| Price | See current price on Amazon |
OXO states the wood, the finish and the sizes in plain terms and sells through Amazon.
The FSC statement has no certificate code and we could not find the brand in the database, so it stays a claim.
Why it scored well
- Wood, finish and sizes stated
- Sold by Amazon
- Natural oil finish
Watch-outs
- FSC claim has no certificate code
- Care instructions not stated
- Beech only, no heat rating
Premium set
4. Le Creuset Signature Wooden Tools, 3-Piece
60/100
Editorial score3.0Beech wood
FSC claimed
3 tools
| Wood | Beech wood, described as FSC-certified. |
| FSC | No certificate code; Le Creuset was not found in the FSC database. A supplier may hold the certificate. |
| Design | Flat edges to rest on a spoon rest or Dutch oven; hanging hole. |
| Claims | “Resistant to odor and flavor absorption” is a seller statement. |
| Care | Not stated in the bullets we read. |
| Recalls | A 2011 Le Creuset glass lid recall is a different product; none names wooden utensils. |
| Seller | Shipper and seller Amazon.com. |
| Price | See current price on Amazon |
Le Creuset describes the design in useful detail (flat edges, hanging hole) and is sold by Amazon.
It gives less about finish and care than the other sets, and the FSC claim could not be traced.
Why it scored well
- Design details stated
- Sold by Amazon
- Beech wood stated
Watch-outs
- FSC claim has no certificate code
- Finish and care not stated
- Only three tools
Material unclear
5. KitchenAid Maple Wood Tool Set
58/100
Editorial score2.93 tools
Bamboo handles (per bullets)
Sold by Amazon
| Material | The title says “Maple Wood”, the Material field says “Wood” and the bullets say the handles are bamboo, so the material is unclear. |
| Claims | “Eco-friendly” and “sustainable bamboo” have no certificate. |
| Contents | Slotted turner, short turner and basting spoon. |
| Warranty | One-year replacement and a lifetime limited warranty, per the listing. |
| Recalls | KitchenAid recalls in the CPSC database cover coffeemakers, toasters and food processors; none names wooden utensils. |
| Seller | Shipper and seller Amazon.com. |
| Price | See current price on Amazon |
This listing tells you the product is a tool set but not clearly what it is made of: maple in the title, bamboo in the bullets.
It is sold by Amazon and carries a warranty, which is why it still ranks; check what you receive before buying.
Why it scored well
- Warranty stated
- Sold by Amazon
- Cookware-safe use stated
Watch-outs
- Title, field and bullets disagree on the material
- “Sustainable bamboo” has no certificate
- Care not stated
How to choose wooden spoons
- Choose the wood: beech for an even, light spoon; olive wood for a dense, single-piece spoon.
- Check that title, bullets and material field name the same material.
- Prefer a listing that states origin and finish; look up any FSC code it gives.
- Plan to hand wash and oil them occasionally.
How this guide was researched
We searched Amazon.com for wooden spoons set cooking utensils beech on Oct 19, 2026, kept one product per brand, and read each full listing: title, bullet points, product details and the buy box. We read each full listing, searched the FSC certificate database for the two brands that claim FSC-certified wood, opened the seller line on every buy box and searched the CPSC recall database for each brand. We scored products with our published method: certification (25, where one is claimed), disclosure (20), claims (20), consistency (10) and seller (15); the value part was left out (we show no Amazon prices yet), and scores are rescaled to 100. We did not use or test any product.
We could not use the Amazon product API, so every fact comes from listings and records read by hand on the date shown, and can change. The FSC claims on two listings could not be found under the brand names; the wood may be certified through a supplier. No registry covers olive wood or beech spoons themselves. General information, not medical advice.
Common questions
Is bamboo a wooden spoon?
No. Bamboo is a grass. It is often sold alongside wood, but it is a different material and often made from glued strips.
How do I check an FSC claim?
Search the brand or certificate code at search.fsc.org. If the brand is not listed, ask the seller for the supplier's certificate code.
Can wooden spoons go in the dishwasher?
The listings we read say hand wash. Dishwasher heat and water can crack wood.

